iGaming License: What an Offshore Gambling License Costs
An offshore gambling license is a regulator’s permission to run online casino, sportsbook or poker operations from a named jurisdiction. It is granted to the company running the games, not to a player.
Curaçao charges EUR 4,592 to apply and EUR 47,450 a year, and decides in two eight-week phases. Malta, the Isle of Man and Kahnawà:ke charge differently. Our fee is quoted on the consultation.
Fees verified 7 August 2026 against the Curaçao Landsverordening op de kansspelen (Publicatieblad A° 2024 N° 157), the Malta Gaming Licence Fees Regulations S.L. 583.03, the Isle of Man Online Gambling (Licence Fees) Regulations 2023 and the Gambling Supervision Commission fee sheet, and the Kahnawà:ke Regulations concerning Interactive Gaming.
What an Offshore Gambling License Actually Is, and What It Is Not
An offshore gambling license is an operator’s permission to take bets from a jurisdiction that is not the operator’s home market. It is granted to the company running the games, not to a player. If you are looking for whether you may bet with an offshore sportsbook as a customer, that is a different question with a different answer, and this page does not answer it.
No regulator anywhere issues something called an “offshore gambling licence”. That is the search term. The instruments are named, and the names matter because the fees attach to them.
Curaçao issues a kansspelvergunning, a games-of-chance licence, and separately a leveranciersvergunning for suppliers of critical services and goods. Malta issues a gaming service licence and a critical gaming supply licence. The Isle of Man issues five: a full licence, a sub-licence, a software supplier licence, a network services licence and a token-based software supplier licence. Kahnawà:ke issues an Interactive Gaming Licence with authorizations appended to it.
One page ranking for this search classifies offshore gambling licences as a money-laundering typology. The honest answer is that all four jurisdictions on this page make anti-money-laundering compliance a condition of the grant, not an afterthought. Curaçao requires identification of every ultimate beneficial owner, a criminal-record position covering the eight years before the application, evidence of the source of funds, and registration in the goAML reporting portal before it will issue anything (LOK Art. 2.2(2)(a), (b), (c), (k)). A licence in these jurisdictions is a supervised position, and the supervision is the product.
The governing instrument in Curaçao is the Landsverordening op de kansspelen, the LOK, published at Publicatieblad A° 2024 N° 157 and in force since 24 December 2024. The previous offshore ordinance, the LBH, is repealed and survives only for applications that were already pending when the LOK arrived (Art. 15.9). The Ordinance also renamed the regulator: the Gaming Control Board is now the Curaçao Gaming Authority, by operation of Arts. 15.2(2) and 15.7. Pages describing the previous system, and there are many, are describing a regime that no longer exists.
This page covers the gambling vertical. For the other four, see financial licensing.
B2C Operator or B2B Supplier: Which Licence You Need
The first fork decides every number below it: do you take the other side of the player’s bet, or do you supply someone who does?
| What you do | Which instrument | What it costs | Where we route you |
|---|---|---|---|
| You take the bets (B2C) | Curaçao gaming licence · Malta gaming service licence · Isle of Man full licence · Kahnawà:ke Client Provider Authorization | EUR 4,592 · EUR 5,000 · GBP 5,250 · $35,000 to apply | The cost table below |
| You supply games, platform or critical services (B2B) | Curaçao supplier licence · Malta critical gaming supply licence · Isle of Man software supplier licence | Curaçao EUR 4,592 to apply then EUR 24,490 a year · Malta EUR 25,000 a year · Isle of Man GBP 36,750 a year | The regulator fee table |
| You do both | Isle of Man full licence covers both sides without a second fee | GBP 36,750 a year | Isle of Man |
| You resell another operator's licence | No instrument supports this in Curaçao | Not available | Read the row below |
That fourth row is where the field is still selling something the law removed. A Curaçao licence cannot be transferred, nor let to another by agreement or in any other form (LOK Art. 1.2(3)), and breach is a mandatory ground for revocation (Art. 2.4(2)(a)). The master-and-sub-licence model that defined Curaçao for twenty years does not survive that provision.
The transitional rule is narrower than it is usually described. Relief under Art. 15.1(1) runs to holders of an old-regime licence who offered the licensed activities in the course of their own operation, themselves. On its face that does not protect a party whose business was reselling sub-licences to others. If your position depends on that reading, take it to a lawyer before you take it to the regulator.
Kahnawà:ke works differently again, and the difference is structural rather than commercial. An operator does not receive a licence of its own. It receives a Client Provider Authorization appended to somebody else’s Interactive Gaming Licence, valid only while that licence stays in good standing (KGC Regulations ss. 11, 12).
Malta prices the B2C side by gaming service type: Type 1 casino-style games, Type 2 fixed-odds betting, Type 3 peer-to-peer games taken on commission, Type 4 controlled skill games. The type sets both the rate of the compliance contribution and its floor, which is why a “Malta licence costs EUR 25,000 a year” is an incomplete sentence.
Forex and investment dealer licensing sits in forex and investment licensing.
What an Offshore Gambling License Costs
Every “licence cost” quoted on the first page of this search bundles three different things into one number: the regulator’s fee, the cost of the local presence the regulator requires, and the vendor’s own fee. Two of the three are not fees at all. Here they are separately.
| Jurisdiction | Regulator fee, first year | Local presence you must fund | Our fee | Annual renewal from year two |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Curaçao | EUR 4,592 application plus EUR 150 per beneficial owner, then EUR 47,450 for the first year | Curaçao NV or BV, a resident director, one key person on the island, dedicated premises, a Tier-IV data centre | Quoted on the consultation | EUR 47,450 |
| Malta | EUR 5,000 application plus EUR 25,000 fixed annual fee | Maltese company, key function personnel at EUR 50 each | Quoted on the consultation | EUR 25,000 fixed plus a compliance contribution, minimum EUR 25,000 for Type 2 |
| Isle of Man | GBP 5,250 application plus GBP 36,750 annual | Isle of Man company, a control environment the Commission accepts | Quoted on the consultation | GBP 36,750 |
| Kahnawà:ke | $35,000 application including the first year, plus $5,000 per key person | An existing licence holder to append your authorization to | Quoted on the consultation | $20,000 plus $1,000 per key person |
Three things in that table did not appear on any of the four competitor pages we parsed for this search on 7 August 2026.
Curaçao’s annual charge is a single statutory figure, not a range. EUR 47,450 is set by LOK Art. 5.19 in two components: EUR 22,960 to the Curaçao Gaming Authority for supervision and EUR 24,490 to the treasury for holding the licence. Ranges of EUR 24,000 to EUR 47,500 circulate widely. They are the two components quoted as if they were alternatives.
Malta’s EUR 25,000 fixed annual fee is roughly half the real annual regulator cost. The compliance contribution sits on top of it and carries a statutory minimum: EUR 15,000 for Type 1, EUR 25,000 for Types 2 and 3, EUR 5,000 for Type 4 (S.L. 583.03, First Schedule). A Type 2 business-to-consumer operator pays at least EUR 50,000 to the regulator in its second year.
The Isle of Man’s GBP 36,750 is the annual fee only. A GBP 5,250 application fee is payable on submission for every licence type (SD 2023/0148 r. 4). Neither of the two pages ranking above this one on 7 August 2026 mentioned it.
Curaçao’s figures are indexed annually to the consumer price index by ministerial regulation (LOK Arts. 5.19(7) and (8)). That is why this page carries a dated verification line and a ninety-day re-check rather than a static table.
Two dates belong in your cash-flow plan. The first year’s charge is payable within 14 days of the grant notification, pro-rated for the remaining days of that year, and every year afterwards it falls due by 15 January (LOK Art. 6.1(3)).
Our own fee is quoted on the consultation and appears on full pricing as the price list is published. We do not estimate it here.
Fees verified 7 August 2026.
What Each Regulator Charges, Line by Line
The headline fee is not the invoice. These are the charges that appear afterwards, each with the provision that sets it.
| Charge | Curaçao | Malta | Isle of Man | Kahnawà:ke |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application | EUR 4,592 | EUR 5,000 | GBP 5,250, all types | $30,000 licence · $35,000 authorization |
| Renewal of the application | Not applicable | EUR 5,000 | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Per beneficial owner | EUR 150, and EUR 2,551 per listed owner | Not applicable | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Per qualifying holder | EUR 150 operator · EUR 128 supplier | Not applicable | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Per domain or application | EUR 250 | EUR 100 | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Per game added | EUR 13 | Not applicable | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Change of owner | EUR 128 | EUR 1,500 to transfer a qualifying interest | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Per key person | Not applicable | EUR 50 per key function personnel | Not applicable | $5,000 to apply, $1,000 a year |
| Annual, B2B lighter supply | Not applicable | EUR 3,000 up to EUR 1m revenue, EUR 5,000 above (Third Schedule) | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Annual | EUR 47,450 | EUR 25,000 plus the compliance contribution | GBP 36,750 full · GBP 5,250 sub-licence · GBP 52,500 network or token-based | $15,000 licence · $20,000 authorization |
Sources, in order: LOK Arts. 5.18 and 5.19 · S.L. 583.03, Fourth Schedule · SD 2023/0148 rr. 4 and 5 · KGC Regulations ss. 16, 29, 35, 142.
The Kahnawà:ke Regulations state these amounts in dollars without naming a currency. We read them as Canadian dollars given the Commission's territory, and we flag that as our reading rather than the instrument's words. Where the Regulations do mean US dollars they say so expressly, at s. 47(g), for a fee not used on this page.
Two of those rows change a decision. On the Isle of Man, adding token-based software supply to a full licence does not add GBP 52,500. It replaces GBP 36,750 with GBP 52,500 (SD 2023/0148 rr. 5(3) and 5(4)). In Kahnawà:ke the application fee is a deposit against costs rather than a cap. The applicant bears the Commission’s actual due-diligence and control-system assessment costs above it, invoiced separately. Processing is suspended if a further fee goes unpaid for ten days (KGC Regulations s. 16).
Now the question two competitor pages ask in their own FAQ and neither answers. None of these four regulators sets a minimum capital figure. Curaçao tests whether you have demonstrated liquidity to pay prizes as they reasonably fall due (LOK Art. 2.2(2)(g)), which is a solvency test against your actual game liabilities rather than a number you deposit. Malta, the Isle of Man and Kahnawà:ke set no capital floor in their fee instruments either. If a page quotes you a minimum capital for one of these four, ask which provision it comes from.
Malta has genuine relief that is worth planning around. A start-up undertaking pays no compliance contribution for its first twelve months from the date the licence is issued, with revenue deemed nil for every computation (S.L. 583.03 reg. 9(1)). The definition runs to seven conditions. The undertaking must be under five years old, must have distributed no profits, and must not have been formed by a disqualifying merger or acquisition. Its revenue in the same or a related sector must be under EUR 10,000,000 across the previous thirty-six months, and it must not be part of a group above that threshold. Relief also requires the Authority’s confirmation, and the onus of proof sits on the applicant (reg. 9(3)). It is not automatic and it is not self-certified.
What You Must Actually Have on the Ground
The page currently ranking first for this search publishes “Substance requirements: No” for Curaçao, and says there is usually no need to hire local employees or rent a local office. The Ordinance says otherwise, and it says so in numbered articles.
| Jurisdiction | Local director | Local staff | Premises | Data hosting | Instrument |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Curaçao | At least one resident director | One full-time key person, three from year five | Own premises, used for nothing else | Tier-IV certified data centre in Curaçao | LOK Arts. 2.1(4), 5.12(1), 5.9(1)(j) |
| Malta | Maltese company | Key function personnel, notified per role | Not specified in the fee regulations | Not specified in the fee regulations | S.L. 583.03 |
| Isle of Man | Isle of Man company | A control environment the Commission accepts | Not published as a figure | Not published as a figure | isleofmangsc.com |
| Kahnawà:ke | Through the licence holder | Key Person Permit per key person | Co-location facility on the Territory | On that facility | KGC Regulations ss. 29, 30(a), 35 |
In Curaçao a licence goes only to an NV or BV incorporated under Curaçao law and statutorily seated there (Art. 2.1(1)), managed by at least one natural person resident in Curaçao (Art. 2.1(4)). The licensee must provide permanent full-time work to at least one key person registered in the Curaçao population register, who is not its director, for the first four years, and at least three from the fifth (Art. 5.12(1)(a) and (b)). It must have its own business premises in Curaçao, fitted out for the licensed business and used for nothing else (Art. 5.12(1)(c)).
The exemption is what makes that navigable, and nobody publishes it. Art. 5.12(4) switches the whole requirement off, on five conditions. The licensee must have been incorporated no more than a year before applying. No beneficial owner may be, or have been, a beneficial owner of another gaming operator or supplier in the preceding two years. Gross gaming revenue must stay under NAf 20,000,000 in the preceding year and in each of the first three financial years. And a half-yearly independent financial expert’s statement must confirm it. All five limbs, not a general start-up carve-out. From the fourth financial year the full requirement applies. The minister may separately grant up to two years of relief where key persons or premises are genuinely unavailable locally (Art. 5.12(6)).
Two costs nobody prices belong here. Player and transaction data must sit on a server in a Tier-IV certified data centre located in Curaçao, available to the regulator at all times (Art. 5.9(1)(j)). And Kahnawà:ke’s Interactive Gaming Licence requires a co-location facility wholly situated within the Mohawk Territory (KGC Regulations s. 30(a)), which is the practical reason an operator applies for the authorization rather than the licence.
One forward-looking point, because it affects a five-year plan. The Ordinance obliges the minister to report to the Staten after three years, expressly on the impact of the substance requirements on how attractive Curaçao remains (Art. 15.8(1)(c)). That review is due in December 2027. The legislature scheduled a check on whether these rules cost Curaçao its market.
How Long It Takes, and When the Clock Actually Starts
The clock does not start when you submit. It starts when your file is complete, and the difference is where the six-month timelines in this field come from.
| Jurisdiction | Statutory or published period | What starts the clock | What stops it | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Curaçao | Phase one 8 weeks, extendable by 4. Phase two 8 weeks, extendable by 4 | Receipt of all required information | An incomplete file, or no response within 4 weeks of a reminder | LOK Art. 5.1 |
| Malta | Not published | Not published | Not published | legislation.mt |
| Isle of Man | Not published. A formal hearing follows acceptance | Acceptance of the application | Delays in the process | isleofmangsc.com |
| Kahnawà:ke | Not published | Filing with the fee | An unpaid further fee, after 10 days | KGC Regulations s. 16 |
Curaçao is the only fully statutory timeline in the vertical, so it is worth reading precisely. The application runs in two phases (Art. 5.1(2)). The Authority decides phase one within eight weeks of receiving all required information, extendable by up to four (Art. 5.1(4)). On a decision to proceed you have four weeks to file everything for phase two (Art. 5.1(5)). The Authority decides phase two within eight weeks of the complete application, again extendable by four (Art. 5.1(6)). It rules on completeness within two weeks, and an applicant who does not respond within four weeks of a reminder has the application taken no further (Art. 5.1(7)).
There is a commercial lever inside that sequence. The Authority may grant a provisional licence for up to six months while phase two runs, extendable by six (Art. 5.1(8)). You can be trading before final approval. It is discretionary, and it is not available where a refusal ground applies.
Where a regulator publishes no service standard, this page says so rather than estimating one.
What You Must Have Ready Before You Apply
None of the four competitor pages we parsed for this search on 7 August 2026 published the list in full, which makes it the cheapest advantage available here. In Curaçao it is not a generic checklist: it is the refusal grounds in LOK Art. 2.2(2), read as a document list.
- Identity, existence and involvement of every ultimate beneficial owner, every holder of a qualifying holding of 10% or more, and everyone who determines or co-determines policy (Art. 2.2(2)(a)).
- A criminal-record position covering the eight years before the application for any beneficial owner or qualifying holder above 25% and for policy-makers, covering theft, extortion, handling, embezzlement, fraud, prejudicing creditors, money laundering and terrorist financing (Art. 2.2(2)(b)).
- Evidence of the origin of the funds and of the assets financing the operation (Art. 2.2(2)(c)).
- Confirmation of no outstanding tax or social-premium debt with the Receiver or the Social Insurance Bank (Art. 2.2(2)(e)).
- Demonstrated liquidity to pay prizes as they reasonably fall due (Art. 2.2(2)(g)).
- A responsible-gambling policy (Art. 2.2(2)(h)).
- An approved alternative dispute resolution route (Art. 2.2(2)(i)).
- Registration in the goAML reporting portal (Art. 2.2(2)(k)).
Kahnawà:ke adds its own: personal and financial information for every director and every shareholder with 10% or more, a Key Person Permit application for each key person, and a Control System Submission (KGC Regulations ss. 29, 35).
Budget for the assessment costs as well as the fee. In Kahnawà:ke the Commission’s actual due-diligence and control-system assessment costs are charged above the application fee and invoiced separately, and processing stops if a further fee is unpaid within ten days (s. 16).
Where to Apply: The Jurisdictions We Cover
The column no competitor publishes is the last one but two: whether the jurisdiction appears on a list that will cost you a bank.
| Jurisdiction | Regulator | Instrument | First-year regulator cost | Substance | List status | Our verdict |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Curaçao | Curaçao Gaming Authority | Gaming licence under the LOK | EUR 4,592 plus EUR 47,450 | Resident director, one key person, premises, local data centre | Clean on FATF, EU Annex I and EU Annex II | The volume jurisdiction, and the one whose rules changed most |
| Malta | Malta Gaming Authority | Gaming service licence | EUR 5,000 plus EUR 25,000 | Maltese company, key function personnel | Clean on all three | The EU position, with a real second-year cost |
| Isle of Man | Gambling Supervision Commission | Full licence, four others | GBP 5,250 plus GBP 36,750 | Isle of Man company | Clean on all three | One licence covering both sides of the business |
| Kahnawà:ke | Kahnawà:ke Gaming Commission | Authorization appended to a licence | $35,000 including year one | Through the licence holder's facility | Canada is clean on all three | Structurally different, and cheaper to enter than it looks |
| Costa Rica | None identified | Not established | No verified figure | Not applicable | Clean on all three | See below |
| Tobique | Tobique Gaming Commission | Not verifiable | No figure published here | Not verifiable | Not assessed | See below |
| Anjouan | Contested at source | Not verifiable | No figure published here | Not verifiable | Not assessed | See below |
Curaçao, Malta, the Isle of Man and Canada are on none of the three lists that matter to a payment partner. All four are absent from the FATF list of jurisdictions under increased monitoring of 19 June 2026. All four are absent from both Annex I and Annex II of the EU Council list of 17 February 2026. An absence is as citable as a presence, and worth checking before you commit: two jurisdictions this field prices routinely, Panama and Vanuatu, are on Annex I.
Three rows carry an honest negative instead of a figure.
Costa Rica: we could not verify that a gambling licence exists, and we could not verify that it does not. Three Costa Rican government sources refused automated access when we checked on 7 August 2026, so we report the state of the evidence rather than asserting a conclusion. Two of the five pages ranking for this search state that Costa Rica has no gambling licence and that what is sold as one is a company incorporation plus a local business permit, and one of those two is not selling an alternative. The page ranking first sells it from about 1,200 US dollars. Until we can cite a Costa Rican primary source either way, the practical test is the one you can apply yourself: ask the vendor which regulator issues it and which statute creates it, and ask to see both.
Tobique cannot be verified. The Commission’s own site returned an HTTP 521 error on two separate attempts, so no figure for it appears on this page. Two competitor pages publish one anyway.
Anjouan appears under two different authority names on two different domains across the first page of this search, and its issuing authority’s recognition could not be established at a primary source. We publish no figure for it and we do not link it. That matters commercially, because it is the second most-searched jurisdiction term in this vertical and almost every vendor sells it.
What We Do and What You Do
We do
- Jurisdiction selection against the model in the routing table above
- Curaçao NV or BV formation where that is the answer
- Application assembly across both phases
- The manuals the regulator expects: responsible gambling, anti-money-laundering, complaints and dispute resolution
- Submission, and correspondence through the completeness check
You do
- The key person and the premises
- The directors and their police certificates
- The source-of-funds evidence
- The platform and its certification
- The decision to proceed
The boundary, stated once. WeOpenOffshore is not a law firm and not a regulatory filing agent, and no adviser can guarantee that a licence will be granted. The regulator’s discretion is written into the instrument: the Curaçao Gaming Authority may refuse where it has grounds to believe a safe, responsible, transparent, verifiable and reliable offering is at risk (LOK Art. 2.2(1)). The honest promise is a complete file, not an outcome.
Who This Suits, and Who It Does Not
Start with the exclusion, because it is the expensive misunderstanding in this market. A licence from any jurisdiction on this page does not let you accept players in the United States or Great Britain. The California Gambling Control Commission states on its own site that online gambling is illegal under California law and that it is not authorised to license an online casino. Great Britain requires an operating licence from the Gambling Commission to transact with British consumers. A vendor implying otherwise is describing a market it cannot deliver.
Then the obligations that make this a commitment rather than a purchase. In Curaçao a licensee must acknowledge a complaint in writing within a week and decide it within four, extendable once by four, with alternative dispute resolution always offered at the licensee’s cost (LOK Arts. 5.3(2), (4), (5), (6) and (7)). Self-exclusion runs for a minimum of twelve months and is irrevocable during its term (Art. 5.4(2)). Annual accounts go to the regulator by 30 June (Art. 5.11(3)). Staff take mandatory annual continuing education (Art. 5.9(4)). The player contract is governed by Curaçao law with disputes before the Curaçao court (Art. 5.5), so you do not choose the governing law of your own player terms.
Licensees must also belong to a guarantee fund securing player balances, at a premium indexed annually on an actuarial report (Art. 5.7). The obligation is statutory. The amount is set by ministerial regulation and was not published when this page was verified, so no figure for it appears here.
One date to diarise: from 24 December 2026 a Curaçao licensee may not take critical services or goods from an unregistered supplier (LOK Arts. 5.16(4) and 15.10(3)). If your platform provider is not registered by then, that is your problem rather than theirs.
This suits an operator who can fund a real local presence and wants a supervised position a bank will accept. It does not suit an operator whose plan depends on serving the United States or Great Britain, whose beneficial owners cannot pass an eight-year conviction check, or who wants a licence without the obligations attached to it.
A licence also does not, by itself, get you payment processing. That is a separate application to a separate counterparty, and it is covered by high-risk merchant account.
On Your Own, a Gaming Law Firm, or Us
Full-representation gaming-law fees are not publicly quoted anywhere in this field, so this table compares what each route removes and what it never removes.
| Route | What you pay | What it removes | What it never removes | Main risk |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| On your own | Regulator fees, local presence, your time | Nothing | Beneficial-owner identification, the eight-year conviction bar, source-of-funds evidence, the substance requirement, the data centre, the manuals | In Curaçao and Kahnawà:ke this route does not exist: you cannot file without a locally seated company and a resident director, or without an existing licence holder to append to |
| Gaming law firm, full representation | Not publicly quoted | Drafting and regulator correspondence | Suitability, substance, local presence, the regulator's discretion | Open-ended cost against a fixed regulator fee |
| Us | Quoted on the consultation, plus regulator fees and local presence | Jurisdiction selection, formation, document assembly across both phases, the manuals, submission, correspondence through the completeness check | Suitability, substance, the regulator's decision | We are not a law firm. On a contested application, use the row above |
| Buy a ready-made licence | Vendor price, usually opaque | Apparently, the wait | Nothing. LOK Art. 1.2(3) prohibits transferring a Curaçao licence or letting another use it in any form | You are buying either a company that does not carry the licence, or an arrangement the Ordinance no longer supports |
A Costa Rica incorporation sold as a licence removes nothing either, because there was no licensing assessment to remove.
Where the model is contested or novel, a new product type, a refused prior application, a beneficial owner with a history, the law-firm row is the right call and we will say so on the consultation rather than take the work.
What This Means Where You Live
United States
A foreign gaming company is a foreign corporation for US tax purposes, and the reporting follows the ownership rather than the licence: FBAR, Form 8938 under FATCA, Form 5471 and the controlled-foreign-corporation rules where they apply.
United Kingdom
A Gambling Commission licence is required to transact with consumers in Great Britain and no offshore licence substitutes for it. Beyond that, the foreign company is reportable to HMRC and the controlled foreign companies rules may attribute its profits.
India
The licence question and the remittance question are separate problems. FEMA and the Liberalised Remittance Scheme govern how an Indian resident may fund a foreign gaming company, through the overseas direct investment route where it applies, and India's own gambling law is a state subject.
United Arab Emirates
9% federal corporate tax and the economic substance regulations apply to a UAE-resident holding structure regardless of where the gaming licence sits, and whether the holding company is a free-zone entity or an offshore company changes the answer on both.
South Africa
The National Gambling Act reserves domestic licensing to the provincial boards, so a search for a South African gambling licence is a domestic question this page does not answer. What it does answer is what an operator licensed elsewhere may and may not do.
You remain responsible for reporting your interest in any foreign company or account to the tax authority where you are resident.
Gambling Licensing FAQ
How much does an offshore gambling license cost?
Curaçao charges EUR 4,592 to apply and EUR 47,450 a year. Malta charges EUR 5,000 to apply and EUR 25,000 a year fixed, plus a compliance contribution with a minimum from EUR 5,000 to EUR 25,000 by service type. The Isle of Man charges GBP 5,250 to apply and GBP 36,750 a year for a full licence. Kahnawà:ke charges $35,000 to apply, including the first year, and $20,000 a year. Those are the regulators' charges only, before local presence and advisory fees.
Which gambling license is cheapest?
Each regulator charges in its own currency, so we publish the four first-year figures rather than a ranking that would depend on the exchange rate on the day you read this. Curaçao is EUR 4,592 plus EUR 47,450. Malta is EUR 5,000 plus EUR 25,000, before the compliance contribution that starts in year two. The Isle of Man is GBP 5,250 plus GBP 36,750. Kahnawà:ke is $35,000 including the first year. The cheapest positions are not full operator licences at all. The lowest published annual fee in the set is Malta's EUR 3,000 for lighter B2B supply under EUR 1m of revenue, and the cheapest route to taking bets is the Isle of Man sub-licence at GBP 5,250 a year, which exists only because a full licence holder may issue one to you. Two of the three jurisdictions this field usually calls cheapest, Anjouan and Tobique, could not be verified at source at all, which is why no figure for either appears on this page.
Do I need a local office and local staff?
In Curaçao, yes. The Ordinance requires a resident director, permanent full-time work for at least one key person registered on the island rising to three from the fifth year, and dedicated premises used for nothing else (LOK Arts. 2.1(4), 5.12(1)). The requirement switches off for a licensee under NAf 20,000,000 of gross gaming revenue that meets four further conditions, including a half-yearly independent financial expert's statement (Art. 5.12(4)).
How long does a gambling license take?
Curaçao decides in two eight-week phases, each extendable by four weeks, with a two-week completeness check first and a four-week applicant window between the phases (LOK Art. 5.1). A provisional licence can run for up to six months during phase two. Malta, the Isle of Man and Kahnawà:ke publish no decision period, so this page does not estimate one for them.
Can I buy a ready-made gambling license?
Not in Curaçao. The Ordinance prohibits transferring a licence or letting another use it by agreement or in any other form, and breach is a mandatory ground for revocation (LOK Arts. 1.2(3), 2.4(2)(a)). What is sold as a ready-made licence is either a company sale that leaves the licence behind, or an arrangement the current law does not support.
Is there a Costa Rica gambling license?
We cannot confirm one either way from a Costa Rican primary source, and that is worth knowing before you buy one. Two of the pages ranking for this search state that Costa Rica has no gambling regulator and issues no gambling licence, and that what is sold as one is a company incorporation plus a local business permit. The page ranking first sells it as a licence. Three Costa Rican government sources refused automated access when we checked on 7 August 2026, so we report that contradiction rather than assert the negative as our own finding. Ask the vendor to name the issuing regulator and the statute.
Do I still have to report the company at home?
Yes. A licence is a permission to operate, not a change in your tax residence. US persons: FBAR, Form 8938, Form 5471 and the controlled-foreign-corporation rules. UK residents: HMRC and the CFC rules. Indian residents: FEMA and the Liberalised Remittance Scheme.
Before You Apply
Get a free consultation and we will route your model to the jurisdiction that fits it, or tell you that a law firm is the better call. See full pricing for the advisory fees as they are published.
Disclaimers
WeOpenOffshore is not a law firm, a bank, or a tax adviser. This page is general information, not legal or tax advice.
We are not a regulatory filing agent, and licensing is subject to the regulator's approval. No adviser can guarantee that a licence will be granted.
A licence from any jurisdiction described here does not permit you to accept players in the United States or Great Britain, or in any market that requires its own licence.
You remain responsible for reporting your interest in any foreign company or account to the tax authority where you are resident.
Every jurisdiction described here makes beneficial-owner identification, source-of-funds evidence and an anti-money-laundering programme conditions of the grant. Licensees remain subject to the Common Reporting Standard and to their home jurisdiction's reporting regardless of the licence.
Fees verified 7 August 2026. Government fees in this vertical are re-verified every ninety days, and Curaçao’s are indexed annually to the consumer price index.